Putting It Together: Social Media Engagement In Action

Posted on February 19, 2013 by

0


Social Media In Action

Social Media Engagement In Action

Last week, I spoke at the Internet Retailer Web Design 2013 conference in Orlando. I have quite a few friends and family members in Florida, so I decided to take a few days after the conference to visit. I remembered seeing Facebook updates from author Linnea Sinclair several months ago about book signings in Florida near where I would be spending some time at the end of the week.

Fan girl that I am, I sent a Facebook message to Linnea asking if she had any signings happening while I was in town. I received a quick response letting me know that although she didn’t have any signings during that time, she was available for lunch and would I like to get together?!?!? YES!!! Linnea then took social media engagement one step further by checking out my Facebook likes to see that I also “liked” author Jaime Rush (also known as Tina Wainscott) and suggested that she join us as well. From the moment I got the message that two of my favorite authors were taking time out of their day to have lunch with me, I was over the moon!

So, what does this have to do with social media, marketing and #SMChat? Everything! I could have chosen to contact Linnea by the email provided on the contact form on the Linnea Sinclair website, or I could have not contacted her at all, either because I didn’t know where she was located or because I didn’t expect a response…so here are my questions for YOU on social media engagement:

  1. How do you engage with your audience via social media?
  2. Do you expect immediate ROI on your social media engagement?
  3. Do you respond to questions and if so, how quickly do you provide a response?
  4. What (if anything) changes depending on whether the inquiry is positive or negative?
  5. Does your response depend on factors like tone, influencer rating, day/time of request?

Please join me on Wednesday, February 20, 2013 at 1P ET to discuss social media engagement in hopes of determining best practices, or at least guidelines for engagement and opening the lines of communication.

There have been several brief conversations about a real-life #SMchat meetup and my recent meeting with two amazing women who I have only “known” online and through their books really makes me want to meet more of my “online friends” – how about you? Leave a comment below and let us know who you would like to meet “in real life” and let’s try to find a way to make this meetup a reality!

Posted in: Community, Marketing